Skip to content

What the caterpillar calls the end, the rest of the world calls a butterfly!

January 1, 2012

When I stood with my family last night with a champagne glass in one hand and holding my dear ones with the other wishing them a Happy New Year, I suddenly got very emotional. 

Tears welled up in my eyes. I didn’t´t know why, so I went inside away from all the fire works and commotion and reflected a little over this.

The feelings I felt were sadness, combined with fear, gratefulness and expectation. Why? With everything happening in the world – from financial crisis, wars to extreme weather catastrophes and violence, I have a feeling that something is wrong with this world. I am not sure what – is it the system, greed, selfishness or other things?

However, I do know the human nature; it doesn’t like change. And on the eve of change we feel a kind of restlessness, like the feeling before a storm is under way. That it will get worse before it gets better. A feeling we don’t like.

This, I think, explained the feelings i felt, of sadness and fear. A sadness that something is over and fear of losing it. Then I became grateful of having a family I love, a house, a meaningful job and good health.

Still, we are always craving for more with dreams and goals. To stand still for a while and to really feel how grateful I am, makes me very happy. After gratitude came the feeling of expectation. Of what, I don´t know. Like I said, maybe it is the restlessness that change is coming. That is inevitable. A change we need, one the world needs, one that will lead to a much better world.

Therefore, I love this saying,”What the caterpillar calls the end, the rest of the world calls a butterfly” (Lao Tzu) So let´s all work together to make our world become a butterfly and let’s say goodbye to the caterpillar phase with gratitude, trust and hard work!

Happy New Year!

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

